Resets Menu

Use this menu with caution. You can lose buffered page data or printer configuration settings when you select these items. Only reset the printer under the following circumstances:

●You want to restore the printer’s default settings.

●Communication between the printer and computer has been interrupted.

●You are using both the serial and parallel I/O ports, and one of the ports is having problems.

The items in the Resets Menu will clear all memory in the printer, while [Cancel Job] clears only the current job.

Table 3-11. Resets Menu

Item

Explanation

RESET MEMORY

This item clears the printer buffer and the active

 

I/O input buffer, and makes the Control Panel

 

defaults current.

 

The DATA RECEIVED message might display on

 

the Control Panel.

 

Resetting memory during a print job can result in

 

data loss.

RESTORE FACTORY SETTINGS

RESET ACTIVE I/O CHANNEL

RESET ALL I/O CHANNELS

This item performs a simple reset and restores most of the factory (default) settings. This item also clears the input buffer for the active I/O.

The DATA RECEIVED message might display on the printer’s Control Panel.

This item performs a simple reset and clears the input and output buffers (for the active I/Os only). The DATA RECEIVED message might display on the printer’s Control Panel.

This item performs a simple reset and clears the input and output buffers for all I/Os.

EN

Control Panel Menus 3-29

Page 74
Image 74
HP 5000n manual Resets Menu Explanation, Reset Memory